Home > bicycling, Mechanical > Old Road Bike to Cyclocross Series–Part 2- Stripping and repainting the frame

Old Road Bike to Cyclocross Series–Part 2- Stripping and repainting the frame

This is part two of a four part series on how to convert an older 1980 Roads bike to a more modern commuter or even Cyclocross bike.

In Part one I stripped all the parts, kept the ones I needed and stored the rest. Now its time to make sure the frame is still good and to repaint it for rebuilding. I decided the keep the fork as is but process would be more or less the same.

I had the option to just send this to the auto body shop I was using and have them sandblast it and paint it, but I wanted to see if there was any issues with the frame before I committed to the painting. I didn’t want or need to sand the paint completely away but wanted a quick way to get most of the paint off. I used a commercial chemical paint remover I bought at the local hardware store for about $10. You cover a portion of the frame with it, wait about 15 min then the paint is flaky and can be scrapped off. Slick.

IMG_0876

Did the frame section by section and within a few hours had it more or less down to the bare frame.

IMG_0906

This allowed me to look over the welds and the overall condition of the frame. It was pitted here and there and the bottom bracket seemed to be the worst rust wise but the rust was superficial so was pleased.

Then off to the Auto body shop for final light sandblasting and painting.

I didn’t want to save the graphics per say. This was going to be a bit of a junk yard dog but I did want to keep the type of frame tubing known. Thanks to ebay was able to source from here in Canada a nice original Tange sticker that matched the one that was on there.

IMG_0907

The dude at the auto body shop was pushing Viper red this week and I agreed. Two weeks later the frame was ready for pick up!

And it was stunning.

PA182112

Some choice shots of the various lugs and sections.

PA182113PA182114

The last thing I needed to do was expand the rear triangle to fit the 10 speed drive train I wanted to upgrade to. There are a few rules for this. 1 do NOT do this on a carbon or aluminum frame. 2 don’t worry about being too fancy. Steel is a movable metal and quite frankly you can just yank the rear triangle apart. I decided to at least do it a bit slowly and used a simple combination of screw and two butterfly nuts.

PA182115

Expanded it a bit over a couple of days (you could do it faster but I decided to take my time) and lo and behold when I was done it fit a new rear wheel no problem. No going back now so on to gathering the parts for the next installment.

Technorati Tags: ,,,

Categories: bicycling, Mechanical
  1. November 17, 2016 at 4:26 am

    how much was the powder coat?

  1. November 18, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Leave a Reply

