Home > Uncategorized > A+ Race: Ottawa Canadian Sprint Triathlon

A+ Race: Ottawa Canadian Sprint Triathlon

With the Smiths Falls race being more of a tune up and just a plain fun race this one has turned into my A race for the year.

I had always enjoyed this race as it had a long bike leg and a longer swim leg as well, with the usual 5k run at the end. So the runners would have a lot more Tri before the run started.

Here is how it went down last year:

image

Last year I called it my most complete tri yet. But I wanted to do better this year.

The problem has been that I have reached the start line usually a bit under my optimum. Thus the plan, sign up for and do two Olympic Tris in the weeks proceeding. You can train a lot, but really the best training is to race. So I did the Brockville and Cornwall Olympic Triathlons. I did ok in both but mainly I build up my form and came to the start line feeling pretty good.

Swim

image

In the Tri last year I had a moment as the swim began and struggled with breathing as things got underway. No such challenge this year. I have not been doing much in the way of swimming at all but the combined 3km racing conditions of the previous two weeks paid off and I exited mid pack, and about 20 seconds faster than in 2012

Bike

image

My bike was over a minute faster and it was beyond fun. Again just the joy of zipping along and past folks is great, but I hooked up somehow with a really fast woman (she must have been about 5 minutes faster) and an older gentleman (leg said 62!) and basically we were neck and neck for the entire 30 kms. Sometimes I was in front, then the woman, then the man. I never drafted and I don’t think they did either but it was a game of cat and mouse that was a joy to be part of.

I pushed hard for the last 5 kms and pulled ahead, but they both beat me in the transition and started their run 1st. Still was fantastic and here are the stats from my Gamin at least.

 image

I will take 38kph+ any day and my power was where I wanted it to be at around 211 W average. Full stats can be found here. Last year I was unable to get a good Garmin track due to user error but here is how I did in 2011, so a fantastic improvement in two years.

image

Run

image

My transition, even with putting on my socks (which I won’t do again, not sure why I did that?) was about 5 seconds better than in 2012. No biggee but I do need to get this below 2 mins.

With really very little run training this year I knew I would be slow but I still felt pretty good and my run was only a little under a minute slower, and nobody seemed to be blowing by me in my age group (although a lot of the faster women came blasting by).

I pushed as hard as I could and soon the finish line was in sight.  I could tell that if I just ran as fast as I could I might break 1:40.

And I did!!

image

Wow…almost a full minute faster and more important a great position. 24th overall (out of 187). 19th out of 96 men and more importantly 3rd in my age group (out of 10 in the 45-49 group).

I stuck around and attended the medal ceremony. Yes its corny but great to hear my name and get a medal!!

OTTTri2013

This will be my A race next year and aim is to beat 1:35.

Some last general notes. I have noticed that in most of the races I have done this year there has been a decrease in numbers. This race had 264 participants in 2012 and only 187 in 2013. Other somersault events as well were down. Sydenham Olympic Tri 2012 63 versus 61 in 2013. Smiths Falls 141 in 2012 versus 107 in 2013 (although it changed to a Saturday). Cornwall wasn’t in the Somersault series and it up, 71 in 2012 for the Olympic tri and 106 in 2013 so not all dire news.

There are a lot more options these days, with lots of runs, Spartan race, Prison escape, muddy buddy etc. so maybe getting a bit tapped out. Hopefully not a bust coming up!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

