Home > Uncategorized > B+ Race: Cornwall Olympic Triathlon

B+ Race: Cornwall Olympic Triathlon

imageSo just as with the previous efforts in Brockville this race was really about getting myself back into shape after a few weeks of vacation and relaxing. I have an A race in the week after this one and there is nothing like a race to force you to push yourself and get to the next level.

I was also going to try out a few other things this race, I wanted to try out my PowerCal HR strap in the water (supposedly its water proof…time to find out!) and wanted to try running with my Garmin Forerunner to see if I can get some more info on my running, an area that is increasingly starting to hurt me.

The Cornwall Triathlon is a stand alone event so not in the regular somersault series I partake of. I have never done this Tri before but heard a lot of positives. Also it has a purse so a lot more fast folks show up and its certainly a little bit more of a serious event. The city seems to adopt it a bit as well and the local support seemed better than I have seen at other place which added to the atmosphere.

Another awesome feature is the Saturday youth day, place for the younger ones to start catching the Triathlon Bug. Short Pool swim, bike and run around the park. So safe and very controlled.

DSC04015

Both my young sons did their first Tri here and placed well, maybe the start of something greater??

Also we decided to make this a Tri weekend including camping so it was really a great family weekend get away with a Tri theme. My wife would be doing the lens work as well so more pictures than usual.

There is a sprint tri here but I needed some extra training so Olympic for me. 106 folks, 67 men and 38 woman were in the mix.

Everyone had a designated rack which was nice, no having to jostle for space and have somebody take up space towards the start of the race and pushing you out. There is also a short transition run which I prefer. Had enough time so was able to get my HR monitor and wet suit on with time (unlike the rush of Brockville). Noticed the wet suit has gotten a bit tight this year…need to think about that next year.

DSC04058 

Swim

The swim in in the St. Lawrence and is a nice two lap course. The entry to the water was well prepared with a nice mat and a rope to help with the steep exit. My swim has suffered a little bit since last year as it hasn’t been a focus so just wanted to do well.

Time up, and off we went. It was a very narrow course and everyone started at the same time so 100+ folks and it was the most congested and violent start I had done.

DSC04063

And it never really got better as there were people around me at all times during the 1.5 Km course. Was hoping to be able to do around 30 minutes and I was a bit over that.  Don’t remember where the timing chip went off (I think after bike transition) but was given a 34:55.

image

There were wet suit removal volunteers but I wasn’t sure of the process so decided to skip that phase. I saw how it worked later and may try it later. 

Short grassy run to the Transition and I had no problems getting my bike ready on off I go.

Bike

The Cornwall course is 4 laps of a 10k loop, which was interesting. You got the sense of where you can push and where you can coast a bit. I am always much more tired after the longer swim and again like in Brockville I didn’t feel 100%. At one point there is an interesting loop through an office complex with a tough climb.

 image

Decided to not use my Disc wheel here mostly as I didn’t know what to expect on the course and since it was more of a endurance course didn’t mind.

 

DSC04108 

My Garmin stats tell the tale as always. It picked up my heart rate fine so yes PowerCal strap is water proof. I have now done some hour long efforts at 215-220 watts and that is my power reference now. This race leg I averaged about 195w so a bit less than usual.  Officially by my Garmin averaged around 35 kph which is quite a bit off my usual speed as well.

image

Still I was passing lots of people and ended up with the 20th best time, so a bit below where I can be but still quite good in a tough field.

image

Official time was 1:09:08 with a bit of transition time and the fact that it took a while for the Garmin to lock into the satellites, which is annoying.

The course was also very technical with lots of turns, and I found my back was getting very sore by the end, some of that naturally due to my weight problem still.

Passed by the family about 8 times so that was cool!

Run

Did take time to put on the proper set of socks, shoes and my Garmin Forerunner. I wanted to take some more stats for some of these longer rides. At an A race I won’t do this.

I felt I did ok, but again running is not my strength. I wanted to get below an hour, and well I did, but just barely! 59:58!

image

The course is beautiful, along the seaway then into a nice forest. It was an out and back course so no laps and it was easy to get a sense of where you fit among the riders.

DSC04146

Ended up with transition 1:02 flat. Around what I usually do. Sad smile

Add it all up and ended up fairly low, 46 out of 67 men with a time of 2:46:05. A good reference time for next year.

But for what I wanted this race to do, get some of my race base down, was great and I appreciated the great organization and course. I will be back.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 19, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    Nice race report. I’m glad to hear you made a family trip out of it, with the kids day on Saturday too. I’m the guy in your photo on the bike with Tri-Spoke and Disc wheel. You should consider racing an event next year at the Montreal Esprit triathlon – with your bike speed you would really dominate there.

    • September 20, 2013 at 12:30 am

      Thanks Phil! I really enjoyed this race. Need to get better at running however but looking for new events so will check that one out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

