Home > Triathlon > Sydenham Triathlon

Sydenham Triathlon

This is my second year doing the Sydenham Triathlon in the Olympic distance. Again my daughter had a soccer tournament close by in Kingston. Was a bit worried about this as I have not run longer than 6ks so far this year and now will have to do a 10k at the end of a 40k bike. The swim I wasn’t too worried about.

In 2012 I did a 2:51:09 so was looking to improve on that. Didn’t think I could get it much below 2:45 but certainly should be able to beat my 2012 time.

Also I decided to change to my Cervelo full on Tri bike as opposed to the Tarmac I did last year. In terms of each leg last year I did the swim in 33:46 (including transition time), the bike in 1:14:42 and the run in 1:02:39.

The course was exactly the same thankfully so easy to compare. Registration was easy, everything is close and was able to get racked and ready in mere minutes. Worked my way down to the beach. Was harder to get my wetsuit on mostly as I had not done it in over a year. But it wasn’t too bad and soon I was in the water.

I like the longer 1.5k swim and got into a decent cadence and didn’t get cramps. Probably also not pushing as much as I could as I wanted to have a good bike and be ready for the run.

I was soon enough out of the water and on the bike thru the transition in 33:22, so faster by 20 seconds.

The race course is lumpy but in the end not too bad and was a good decision to change to my Tri bike. I had a few cramps about mid way and had one problem when there was a line of cars waiting to pass some slower bikes and I was catching up with them. I actually had a race official on a scooter right next to me so I asked her if I can pass, she said yes but then I didn’t know if I had to pass on the left (as per the race rules for passing bikes) or if I could pass on the right of the cars. In the end I passed on the left, crossed the center line actually, and got back in front of the cars and bikes. Was a bit worried as I had to cross the center line to be safe. There was no reason for the cars NOT to pass the bikes so I maybe a sign “IT is ok to pass bikes if its safe” somewhere on the race course could be helpful.

image

When all was said and done did a 1:10:20 so a whooping 4 and a bit minutes faster! Also ended up being the 7th fastest time of the day. Averaged 34.3 kph so I probably could have gone faster but still when I got off the bike I was well ahead of my 2012 time and had saved some energy for the run.

In the transition I decided to slow down to speed up in a sense, put on some socks and gather my thoughts.

Then off to the run. First off it wasn’t as bad as I thought, a nice drenching in the middle part cooled things down but I was able to keep my own cadence. I felt like I was going faster than I thought I could and frankly enjoyed it. Was still hurting but not as much as I was worried. About an hour later the finish line was in sight and I clocked a overall 2:46:28 with a run time of 1:02:48. I had made up time in the swim (20 secs) and bike (4+ minutes) and my run was only 20 seconds slower (and some of that could have been putting on the socks) so wow…job done. Still want to do a 2:30 or below but that may have to wait until next year.

Categories: Triathlon
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

