Home > bicycling > Nice Early Morning Mountain Bike Ride

Nice Early Morning Mountain Bike Ride

With my daughter starting High School we found they offer a much wider range of before and after school sports. She recently started with the cross-country running team and I have to drop her off at 7:20am twice a week. I don’t really have to be at work until 9am so have an hour or so to burn.

Hmm..what to do? I have been putting a little bit less emphasis on Mountain Biking so decided that Tuesday and Thursday morning to be MTB mornings in the Kanata Lakes MTB trails. I can get an hour in before work easily.

The City of Ottawa, probably feeling bad for allowing other parts of this forest to be turned into homes, has done a great job of the this part of the forest (which was the part I really liked anyways). Not that it was good to cut the other forest bits, but it was the least interesting part) and there is now a nice map and signs on the trails so you don’t get lost.

New Sign for trails

New Signs!!

Today was a beautiful morning and as you can see the trails were also very dry. I did a loop I have not done before and it was tough, but fun.

IMG_0391[1]

Sun shining, reasonably warm, awesome ride!

Pace was a bit slow but was still a good workout. Had to stop a lot to assess rocks that I have not been over before. Had a few close calls but no falls.

Here is my map compared to the map above.

image

And some basic stats, not far, but hard still!!

image

Not sure how long the weather will hold, but with the summer we had hopefully can do these right into November!

Categories: bicycling
  1. Kate
    December 2, 2012 at 8:01 am

    I love this article on your early morning ride! I am also trying to encourage people to exercise before work on my blog : bikesandbutterflies.blogspot.com.au. Keep up the great work.

    • ducatifiend
      December 3, 2012 at 8:58 pm

      Thanks Kate! I spent a weekend riding around Sydney so jealous of you folks with summer just starting. Still doing my morning rides even though the snow has already begun here!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

