Home > bicycling, Triathlon > Carleton Place Olympic Tri July 2012

Carleton Place Olympic Tri July 2012

This post is waaay past due but wanted to make sure I was able to do it justice as this was an awesome Tri. I really hope I can do it again next year. Sometimes you just find some courses and/or events suit you better than others.

The Carleton Place Tri takes place in mid July, which is a good time. Summer is in full swing and fitness was getting better by the day it seemed.

This came one week after doing the Sydenham Triathlon the week before. On that hilly course I managed a 2:51:09 which was 5 minutes faster than the Brockville OT I did last year. I was feeling a bit more relaxed as I came to the start of this one.

It was a smaller field, about 70 of us, but still lots of competition that was for sure.

1st off it was hot, it has been hot all this year! Hydration was going to be a big issue and sweat too. Just before the race I picked up a “good” pair of sunglasses finally. A dude was selling BLIZ sunglasses which I had looked at before so decided to take the plunge, it was worth it both on the day of the Tri and since.

Also this one was again one of the increasingly family centric Tris. My brother (another one, not the one that did the Smiths Falls Tri) came up from Toronto to do the Sprint tri and my 10 year son was doing the 5k run. My lovely wife was also taking photos so I had a lot more pictures to add here.

The transition area was dry, and the grass tended to get over everything but it was a nice layout and after the usual sign in and set up it was soon time for the swim. I donned my wetsuit and headed down to the beach.

Swim

The swim felt really good. Despite the fact that I haven’t been training much in terms of the swim my swim times have been competitive and I felt great on all three laps of the swim. The course was maybe a bit of a disappointment as it was simply a loop in a small river, so not exactly epic but still it was the right length! I was out mid pack which is all I hope for and not too far behind the rest of the group.

Soon was into the transition area.

Bike

By now you will know that this is where I tend to kick some butt. I focus on the bike and I was feeling good. The course promised to be a flat one and I was on my Cervelo this week.

DSC09305

Out of the transition area on onto the course.

DSC09315

I felt great on the bike and was soon picking folks off. It was an out and back route and had a few hills (more like raises!) but nothing compared to Sydenham. What was neat was that only the OT folks were on the middle 20k so lots of room. Passed a number of folks, got passed by a couple and re-passed a few as well (which I love to do!) Soon we reconnected with all the sprint tri folks and blasted by a lot of those as well. The route was maybe a bit more than 40k but in the end did almost 36kph.

image

This ended up being the 7th fastest time of the day which I am fairly proud off.

DSC09405

Soon off of the bike and on to my least favourite part…the RUN!

Run

The run is probably the one thing that may stop me from doing Tris in the future, or at least reduce my focus on them. After the bike I was just outside of the top ten. But I started falling behind right away on the run, just can’t make my legs go faster! My run, for me, felt good and I was able to squeak it in a bit under an hour if you take the transition time into account.

DSC09421

For the Olympic we did 2 laps of the 5k run course.

DSC09464

1 more lap to go!

There was one, very busy, water station so didn’t always get the water that I needed but thankfully a number of residents were out with water hoses and cooled down that way as well.

Finally turned to the home stretch and sprinted nicely to the end!!

DSC09480

My official run time was 1 hour, 14 seconds. The winner did it in 41 minutes so I am losing 19 MINUTES in the run. Still with a decent swim and an awesome run was able to stop the clock in a time of 2 hours, 41 minutes and 50 seconds. This is almost ten minutes faster than Sydenham and 16 minutes faster than my Brockville reference time of 2:56 from 2011. Progress is being made!!

I was 25th out of 69 and 19 out of 47 men. Very pleased with myself!

Full stats for everyone at this tri can be found here:

http://results.sportstats.ca/res2012/grahambeasley_t.htm

My son had done excellent in the 5k (20th out of 56) and my brother rocked the Sprint tri as well (20th out of 107).

Afterwards we gathered for a nice photo opp!

DSC09500

Categories: bicycling, Triathlon
  1. September 18, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    Nice race summary. Don’t let the run beat ya! The run is my weak spot too but I’m determined to keep TRI’n. If all else fails you could focus on AquaBike…don’t know about your neck of the woods but here in Colorado AquaBikes are really starting to take off. By the way, thanks for your awesome review on the Cervelo P2…I’m looking to get a TT bike for the 2013 season and was thrilled to hear your comments especially how much speed you were able to gain!

  2. ducatifiend
    September 19, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    I am up here in the far north (Ottawa) but looking to get a coach or get more organized so may look at something like Aquabikes. It’s flat around here so I am jealous, I love climbing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

