Home > bicycling, Time Trial > First Blood with the Cervelo P2, and it was sweet

First Blood with the Cervelo P2, and it was sweet

On Friday April 6th, Good Friday, I returned to an arena where I had a lot of success in the past. That is the Ottawa Bicycle Club’s 15 KM Time Trial. This is the traditional opener to the robust Ottawa TT crowd. I used to do these back in the 80s when they were south of the Airport on Manotick Station road. They were just moving to the Aviation Parkway as I left the sport. Don’t know if anybody remembers the old course, but it sure was quiet and it was south/north so usually you got a cross wind unlike the east/west course now where headwinds can get you and tailwinds can propel you.  I won a few but the fields were never more than 35 or so and we used the same bikes we raced on and rode to work, nobody had TT bikes.

Back to the future, and with the Cervelo P2 now in the stable, time to try it out.

It was a blast to go back and start doing these again but in a different atmosphere.

1st off, people are much more serious about it now. There was a lot of folks who looked hard core and bad ass with some serious TT machinery. My Cervelo didn’t look too out of place but it wasn’t fully decked out like some of these machines. The race itself is certainly better organized and as with everything these days there are more rules. But it was a very streamlined process. You had to give a seed time and I didn’t know at all what my time would be. I didn’t have aero wheels or an Aero helmet and the fast looking folks were putting up seed times in the 22s and 23s. My best in a Tri was 36kph but I had not used the Cervelo in a race before and it was windy. I didn’t want to be embarrass myself so I put down what I hoped to do, which was 26 minutes.

Whoops…I was seeded around the lower-middle of 90 participants and was soon lined up.  My number was called up and off I went. Within a few minutes I knew this was going to be faster, I was averaging 39kph with bursts over 40kph and my legs felt good. I was passing a lot of folks and I felt bad for seeding myself so low, it’s also a fairness program so you aren’t either being passed or passing too often. I wondered if after the turn around it would be harder, and it was, but just a bit. I was going to beat my seed time of 26 minutes by a wide margin.

Soon the last km was up and I surged for the final 500 meters or so. As I passed the line I looked at my Garmin 500, it said 23:28. Later looking at my output I slowed up a bit in the middle but the in and out was strong.

image

I had forgotten a few things. First of all my mantra back in the day was engine first, equipment second. I don’t invest in things unless I feel that I don’t have any more significant progress to make with my engine (i.e. legs). I still had a lot to do with my legs but they were strong, but I still need to invest in training before I heard over to zipp.com. So I got freaked out by equipment that didn’t matter. Also I was going into this without first swimming 750m or more, and lastly it was short, only 15km. So I misjudged where I would be. Next one I will seed myself around 22:50 and be where I should be. I also certainly wasn’t dead by the end, I have about 5-10% so I differed success as they say. That will come with learning as well.

Later the results were published and I ended up 18th out of 90, well above my expectations. The official timing had me at 23:21 with an average of 38.53. I’ll take that!

Also this was my first time to really bond with my Cervelo and a bike doesn’t come alive until you have an adventure together, and we have certainly bonded. It is an amazing bike that made the most of what I can give to it.

I’m back!!

Categories: bicycling, Time Trial
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

