Home > bicycling, Travel > Taking the bike to Australia

Taking the bike to Australia

This year has been a bit grim for business travel. While in previous years I would head off to Europe 2, 3 or even 4 times and usually once to Asia thanks to the global slowdown travel was curtailed quite a bit by my company.

That was awesome on one side, I was able to reintegrate in a sense with the family unit and overall it has been easier. But I did miss the occasional adventure and my folding Dahon wasn’t getting a lot of action.

So when the opportunity to head down to Australia popped up I went for it.

I am writing this upon my return and I will update on that but this is just the first of a series of Australia entries.

As usual thought about a Triathlon. Now in the past month or so since I did the San Diego Tri and I haven’t been focusing on my training much. I was still doing the occasional ride and run, which a swim here and there but waiting for the post Christmas season.  But if there is a chance I can get one in I was going for it. I enjoy these even if I don’t do well. I found an interesting one and signed up. More on that later but this lead me to consider what bike to bring.

The folding bike is great for simple trips and some core training, but don’t think I would want to do a tri on it. So I decided to bring the Specialized bike down.

My local LBS has a couple of boxes and I was able to rent one for $50 for the 10 days.  I checked with airlines I was taking. Air Canada wanted $50, Cathay Pacific was free and Qantas was free as well. A bit disappointed about Air Canada and I have elite status there, but still for $150 return I could have my bike down there with me. So I brought my bike in and my LBS packed it up for me.

IMG_0013[1]

Wheels go in first with the skewers removed.

IMG_0014[1]

Then a layer of form then the bike, with seat, pedals and stem removed.

IMG_0016[1]

Was a bit tricky to get all the parts in and fitted but it worked and off I went.

Was a bit worried about if the bike would arrive, but as I stuffed it into the oversized counter at the Ottawa airport I didn’t see in until later as it progressed from Ottawa to Toronto to Hong Kong to Sydney then on to Melbourne.

Was a bit worried but eventually it popped out and about 2 days after I left was cycling along Beach Road in Melbourne Australia!!

IMG_0026[1]

There was a bit of paint damage where the chain had come loose, I figured that out for the subsequent use of the box.

More bike adventures were to come..stay tuned!!

Technorati Tags: ,,,
Categories: bicycling, Travel
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

