Home > bicycling, Triathlon > How far was the Mission Bay Triathlon Bike leg?

How far was the Mission Bay Triathlon Bike leg?

When I looked at my Garmin history from the Bike leg of the 2011 Mission Bay Triathlon I noticed that it said about 16.2 kms and that my average speed was 35kph (or 21.7 mph) which I was pretty pleased with but I wondered if my Garmin was mistaken. If the distance was 15km then my average speed would be down.

Since I was using my Edge 500 all the way across the continent I thought that maybe something went wrong due to the distance. I have a Garmin hiking device that goes nuts if I restart it over 500kms away.

So I figured, hey, I will go up onto connect.garmin.com and see if others also tracked the bike. Search was easy and lots of folks had uploaded their bike.

image

Everyone was more or less 16km +. Which made me feel good again…great average speed on a crappy bike!!

So if you didn’t have something that tracked and thought your speed was low, remember you were doing at least one extra 1km.

Categories: bicycling, Triathlon
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

