Home > Uncategorized > Progress on the biking side of the house

Progress on the biking side of the house

So with the Garmin 500 I have you can set up a course, then set a standard time and race against yourself. This is a very cool feature and I have been using it to some success and it’s great to see your progress. I am very lucky to live right on the Smiths Falls Tri course so I mapped it out and set that as my base course.

In terms of what the course is it’s roughly defined as below:

image

It’s a bit longer than the Smiths Falls course as I have added a part that helps me avoid the steel bridge at Old Slys lock, I had a nasty fall there last year and avoid it if I can. It’s part of the Tri course so will have to take it on Tri day but until then…nope. The course comes out to about 25 and a bit kms so very close in overall length, and 98% of it is the same so good for me.

Now with Garmin connect you can also compare similar rides. Here is my progress in the four Tri bike simulations I have done since mid April. All were on the same bike, my Specialized Tarmac, but the last ride was with my new EA90s wheels. Not sure they were worth all the time I gained, but certainly didn’t hurt! Nice steady progression on getting faster over time. Hopefully I can find a bit more speed come June 26th! Hoping to get another tri simulation in tomorrow!

clip_image002

Activty Name

clip_image002

Type

clip_image002

Start

clip_image002

Time

clip_image002

Distance

clip_image002

Speed

clip_image002

Calories

Tri simulation Cycling Mon, May 30, 2011 5:38 AM 0:46:22 25.19 32.6 1,236
Tri Route Run Cycling Sun, May 1, 2011 5:57 AM 0:47:35 25.24 31.8 1,256
Course 1 Home – SF – Home – Tri course Cycling Mon, Apr 25, 2011 5:57 AM 0:49:34 25.27 30.6 1,182
Untitled Cycling Fri, Apr 15, 2011 11:16 AM 0:49:24 25.17 30.6 1,249
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

