Home > Uncategorized > Run Fat Boy Run

Run Fat Boy Run

So let’s make this quite clear.

I HATE RUNNING

But still, you can’t do a traditional Triathlon without running, and if you saw my running times last year you know I suck at running. So need to get running. I just haven’t gotten around to it!

I dislike running for a number of reasons.

1- It’s not a skill, nobody has to learn how to run per say. You aren’t born knowing how to swim or ride a bike, but by 2 you can pretty much run. So to get better you simply need to run more

2- It’s slow. If I am outside I want to either take it easy and walk or get somewhere and ride my bike

3- There isn’t a lot of cool technology related to it, running shoes just don’t get complex and I can’t get excited about them

4- It’s hard on the body, a partial list of what you can expect include shin splits, Achilles tendinitis, runners knee, plantar fasciitis, ankle sprain, stress fractures, snapping hip and whatever is happening here in that opus of a running movie Run Fatboy Run.

 

Still, maybe I can get some motivation from other Running movies.

There are only a few. Chariots of Fire is a decent one, but the running is actually slowed down and basically it says that to run fast, you have to go slow mo and have a great sound track.

 

After CoF the list falls off. The Running Man doesn’t really have a lot of running in it. Without Limits is a decent one which I may have to track down but looks like an elite story about an elite athlete (there’s a reason there isn’t a Lance Armstrong movie, he came, he saw, he conquered…yawn). I want some soul.

 

When I think about a running movie that moved me I think of Gallipoli. Huh you say. Take a look at the trailer and tell me it’s not about running. 90% of the trailer is about running. If you haven’t seen this movie shame on you, not for the running, but like Breaking Away (ahhh…now that is how you motivate people) running is just the pretext for an awesome story. Still not something to get me running, but after seeing this movie I no longer dreamed of joining the military.

 

Time is “running” short. I needed motivation. Spring is approaching. I am doing tons of bike time both commuting and with the trainer and doing a lot of swimming too. But no running.

Yet, today I “ran” for the first time since the Reading Tri last September. I needed something to get me out of my running funk and it came from an unusual source. I have been reading Unbroken, the story of Louie Zamperini. The story has four parts. One part is about Louie the bombardier in the pacific theatre, another part is Louie stranded on a raft for 47(!) days, another part is Louie the Japanese prisoner of war. However, as much as each of those are amazing stories in their own, the first part is what got me. It’s about Louie the runner.

Louie Zamperini was an unlikely Olympic runner in the 5000m in the 1936 olympics, interacted with Hitler, brought home maybe the first stolen nazi flag and was poised to be a medalist at the 1940 Olympics. Then the war happened. I didn’t find the rest of the story as engrossing, mostly as a lot was similar to Tears in the Darkness, but still riveting nevertheless. The story of how he came to be a runner is just so incredible, it made being shot at, crashing, lost at sea and suffering in a POW camp seem tame. And it got my feet moving….

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

