Home > bicycling, Fit Kit, Update > Fit Kit – Giving a friend a second chance

Fit Kit – Giving a friend a second chance

There are few true things in life, but sometimes something comes close. And for me my 1986 Gardin is pretty close. Would be gutted if it was ever stolen but for now it’s still with me and I hope it will stay for a while.

It’s been a hard life. I raced it constantly when in my teens, quite a few time trials, crits and hours and hours and hours of training rides. Then I used it to commute and abused it by putting it into the basement etc.

I was still using it last year in Tris. In all that time I did little to upgrade it and it was looking a little worst for wear.

This is how it looked before I really got started with the rehab. You may notice the bar tape a little worst for wear, tires don’t match, wheels out of true etc.

P9241600 (Large)

With the arrival of the Tarmac, I could put this bike into a state of stable calm. I looked it over. It had been used hard, but it deserved a second life. I put some plans in place and started trolling ebay and other online sites as well as picking up a few things on my travels.

This week I finished the “core” of the rehabilitation. Here is what I did

First off, I picked up some wheels. This bike won’t be used for racing or another other than some simple rides. Because this bike is from before hubs grew out a bit, it was hard to find wheels that fit. I eventually found a set at Harris Cyclery. These were SUN M13II rims with Quando Hubs. Pretty low tech and cost me about $140 shipped. They arrived and I got to ride on them a few times before the snow settled in.

They look good, are true and ride well. A few shots below.

Sun M13II rims

Rims are shiny at least

Hubs

Quando Hubs..have heard a few bad things about these. We will see.

The skewers that came with the set were ok, but the clapped out Fiori I got from my brother had Campy hubs with Campy Skewers so off they came and a swap was made.

Skewers

That is more like it!

With the wheels taken care of time to look at the rear derailleur. This was an older Mavic model. I wanted to keep everything campy and was thinking about getting a Victory Derailleur to have a complete set. A few things happened. First off we discovered my old Victory Derailleur was with the Fiori I got from my brother. Secondly it didn’t work all that well and thirdly I didn’t find it really looked all that elegant. Even looking at less banged up ones online they just weren’t the most elegant design IMHO. So on to eBay, found a number of mid-80s Super Record derailleurs, bid on a bunch and won one (would have been awkward if I won more than that!). This one came from Australia and with Shipping came out to about $90.

Campagnolo Super Record Rear Derailleur Pat. ’84 Campy
Sale price: AU $75.00
Estimated delivery: Varies
Shipping & Handling:
Regular AU $5.00
Local Pickup 0
Air Mail AU $12.00

Took a while to get it but it eventually arrived, off went the Mavic and on went the Super Record. Had to file down a few rough edges on the cages but that was it. Again was able to do a ride or two and it worked a charm. Very crisp and precise!

CampyDR1 

Back end taken care of now! Bling Bling!

Next up the pedals. I had cheap older style SPD Shinamo-compatible pedals. I had a better pair of Shimano A530(?) pedals on the Tarmac but I recently picked up a set of new 105 Pedals for that bike so these have now been moved to the Gardin.

Pedals1

Simple pedals…only bit of Shimano I have!

With the Gardin being more about shine and the Tarmac being more about black the pedal swap makes sense.

I also found the seat that came with the Tarmac was a bit hard and I never got comfortable with it, so got a newer one there and the old one is nice and white and really stands out on the Gardin. So that was moved over as well.

Seat

Perfect Colour match!

Finally wanted to pick up some tires as the old ones were, well old and they didn’t match. While in the States found these Fortes at Performance Bikes in San Francisco. Ok, it’s their in house brand but reviews are positive and this will be a bike that I just use on the odd Sunday ride. I also liked the overall look. The price at $25 a pop was right. So on they went.

Tires

Put on new Bar Tape, changed out one brake cable that seemed shot. And that was it. A few things are still “wrong”. The left crank arm is not campy and cheapish, bottom bracket probably should be replaced, and the stem is loose, but I am very pleased.

This is how it looks now. Ready and raring to go. It’s still Mid February so a few weeks left yet, but this is one retro ride I can’t wait to see how it worked out!

Bike2

Technorati Tags: ,,,
Categories: bicycling, Fit Kit, Update
  1. No comments yet.
  1. May 31, 2011 at 11:25 pm
  2. February 7, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Leave a Reply

