Home > bicycling > Why I bought a Specialized Bicycle

Why I bought a Specialized Bicycle

I found that a lot of people gave me advice when I said I was looking to upgrade my bike and drop a couple of Gs in doing so. There were definitely many camps out there and lots of advice. All of it good which was annoying!

First there was the aluminum versus carbon fiber debate to work out, in the end I decided that if I could get carbon fiber in my budget I would (and I did) but it would not have been the end of the world if I bought aluminum.

There is was “relaxed” fit versus “race” fit. Lots of vendors have both types but in the end I wanted something to race and if it ended up being uncomfortable I would switch to “relaxed”. My tarmac is comfy as far as I can tell.

Then it was what brand. Unlike cars where you can often spot the car type miles away you have to wait for the bike to get really really close then stare at the down tube to get the name. You basically have to choose based on frame as the components are either Shimano, SRAM or Campagnolo.  I wonder if anybody every took the names off of frames, gave them to 10 pros and asked them to name the brand…

So now for two controversial statements that impacted what frame I bought.

1- A frame is a frame is a frame – so choose based on your wants

2- In the end, its your body and legs that do the work, so frame is mostly irrelevant

Now at the elite pro level maybe it makes a difference but I don’t think so. You don’t ever hear a pip out of anyone now that HTC has switched from Scott to Specialized, Garmin from Felt to Cervelo etc. If it did matter folks would make a stink etc. So I don’t think there really is a case for “thank god I had brand X under me when we went up that mountain”.

So how do you decide? It’s a very personal decision. I was leaning towards Cervelo but man those guys are anal, you do get the most fawned over frames, with individual bolts it seems going under the radar. Made me think if they remembered the fun of bikes.

Go to cervelo.com right now and look for anything that talks about how fun it is to have a bike and just get out there. It’s we won here, we rule there. Oh, look at how we shaved 1.5g from this bolt. Their video series Beyond the Peleton is awesome however and much recommended. And the plain jane graphics, not for me. So after a while just put me off. Now head on over to colnago.com, here the love of the bike is everywhere, how its presented etc. But those prices, ouch.

Trek is ok I guess, just never gelled with them, and Madone, not a name that worked for me.

Spent some time up on bikesdirect.com and may go that direction in the future.

I approached Specialized much like how I approached Trek. Big corporate entity etc. But funny thing happened on the way to buying my bike.

1st off their site is fun and easy to use and pricing is there (at least on the US site, not on the Canadian one).

Nothing more annoying that digging into a frame and specs then have to do a price check via google only to find its way out of my price range.

2nd of all there seemed to be more of a love of the sport, for those days when you just want to get out and enjoy the sunshine. I agree it’s something out of the marketing department but that’s what I wanted to hear.

Also liked the paint schemes, it was easy to understand the bike ranges and the catalog was pretty sweet.

Lastly there was a local dealer, SportX, in Smiths Falls that has specialized so that sealed the deal and in August I brought home my 2010 Specialized Tarmac Elite!

Next year when I look to get a Tri bike probably still won’t care about the brand!

Categories: bicycling Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

